Moving On With the Shepherd

“His way is perfect, no matter what it is. By God’s grace, I can fix my gaze to the cross and fear no evil, for thou art with me O Lord, my shepherd.”

“The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want”- Psalm 23:1

This Psalm from David, who has known and understand this by heart? I mean, can you really feel God as your shepherd guiding you to the right way? Or do you consider God as someone who will doom your life as you find it hard to follow His commandment?

You know my friend, I can tell you a million wisdom using this verse alone, as God is a shepherd who wants nothing but for us to lie down in a green pastures and will lead us to the still water (Psalm 23:2), if only we will learn to obey His voice and follow Him, for the sheep of the Lord knows and hear His voice. (John 10:27-28)

“ My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me: And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand. John 10:27-28”

“He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters.Psalm 23:2”

Whenever I think of the people who’ve hurt me in the past, I keep on telling myself that God is my shepherd, and He is not against me. If the world, even the people that I trust is capable of hurting me, then I know that I can rest upon God’s word, that I have a shepherd that will never leave me nor forsake me(Hebrews 13:5). Even if I will walk in the valley of shadow of death, still I know that God will lead my soul to the green pastures and still water, for He is faithful and true, His presence do comfort me.

“Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.-Psalm 23:4”

You know sometimes, you might feel that you have no one, but my dearest friend, don’t be deceived by the devil, because the scripture gives us the guarantee that we have a faithful shepherd who’s name is “Jesus Christ”, who is faithful and true. So whenever you feel like you are heavy laden because of the world’s betrayal, as there is no truth in this world apart from the word of God, then rest in Christ my friend, for he said:

“Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light. Matthew 11:28-30”.

Knowing that I have a Lord with a lowly heart who is ready to give me rest through prayer and in trusting His promises? That I have a Lord who obeyed the Father’s will even death on the cross for our salvation? Why will I not trust Him? Why will I not seek for His kingdom and righteousness first? Will I not rejoice that He is inviting me His sheep to rest upon Him in the green pasture and still water after the world’s betrayal? Will I not seek for my shepherd for rest? For he said:

“But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you. Matthew 6:33”

The world will surely forsake you, even the people that you’ve trusted with your life, but God will never forsake His own sheep, for He is a faithful shepherd who makes His sheep to lie down in green pasture and still water. Remember my friend, God is God, and He deserves our all for His glory, therefore He deserves our faith.

But isn’t it humbling to know that we have a faithful God with a lowly heart? I mean, I just pray that everyone will enjoy the security of having a God like Jesus Christ, the way I enjoy it. I mean I know I am a sinner, but knowing that His unfailing love and mercy is new every morning? That’s very comforting to me, that even if the world will forsake me, I can say “I don’t care, as long as I have the Lord, who can be against me?”.

“What shall we then say to these things? If God be for us, who can be against us? Romans 8:31”

What I’m trying to say is that, our shepherd the Lord Jesus Christ is enough, we can march on till the end with Him alone, even if no one will believe us? I can guarantee you that if God is on our side, if the great and merciful shepherd is on your side? Surely no one can be against us. So stop crying out with self pity with the devil’s accusations that keeps you from feeling alone, get up and trust God, for He said:

“And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose. Romans 8:28”

You see my friend? Continue to live a life with a trusting heart unto God, for surely He will guide you and will make you to lie down to green pasture, for He is a great and faithful shepherd. Seek His Kingdom and righteousness first by living a life that is Biblical based, and surely you will find the satisfaction that you cannot find in this world, for He said, “everything will be added unto you” if we will seek God first above all things.

My friend, Romans 8:28 give us a very comforting words from God, that “all things work together for good” if we will trust God, if we will seek Him first above all things. Comfort your heart with these truths and promises my friend, and I would love to end this simple reminder with a quote from one of God’s men who served as a missionary in Africa and England for years, a faithful man of God, “Andrew Murray”.

“Humility is perfect quietness of heart. It is to expect nothing, to wonder at nothing that is done to me, to feel nothing done against me. It is to be at rest when nobody praises me, and when I am blamed or despised. It is to have a blessed home in the Lord, where I can go in and shut the door, and kneel to my father in secret, and am at peace as in a deep sea of calmness, when all around and above is trouble.”

This man Andrew Murray can say these things simply because He believes that He has a shepherd who is the Lord Jesus Christ, whom He can trust with. He is a man with a lowly heart as He has a shepherd with a lowly heart, the Lord Jesus Christ, the Son of God.

Trust our shepherd my friend, for He is faithful and true. Be still and know that we have a good shepherd who can give us rest, for He is lowly in heart.

TO GOD BE THE GLORY

Leave a Reply

