Christmas Thoughts: Do Everything for the Glory of God

“Those who trust in God will not be put into shame, for the love and grace of God will keep them going.”

For the scripture saith,Whosoever believeth on him shall not be ashamed. (Romans 10:11)

It’s been quite a while since the last time I’ve wrote a blog, and I guess I was reminded with God’s gift to me, to use it for His glory as a wise servant of Him, I mean remember the parable of the talents right? God took away the talent of the lazy servant, and give abundance to the faithful ones, and I guess I just want to share my thoughts for today through this blog.

Anyway, we all know that satan is the greatest accuser of the brethren right? (Revelation 12:10), so it’s part of being a Christian (that’s if you’re a real one) that you feel like an inner voice is telling you “you can’t be save, “God abandoned you already”, “hate him and run from His words for it do you no good”, “run from His commandments that restrain you from doing what you want”.  And I myself experienced such lies from satan, but whenever he tells me that, like I kinda feel like I’m a failure (everybody does feel that way I believe), I always put into mind that God’s love is greater than my sin, and how great His love is? Just look up to the cross of Christ and you will see how great it is; He shed His love for us.

Though I’m not saying that, “okay let’s sin everyone anyway God will forgive us, His love is greater than my sin right”? No, the Bible teaches us that you cannot be a Christian if you continue with your sin, for Christ died for us  two thousand years ago for our sin, and for that? We ought to kill and hate our sin by God’s grace alone and walk as children of light, to walk in the spirit (Galatians 5:24). So just before you believe that you are a children of light, examine your heart first if your faith is real (2 Cor.13:5), if you’re doing things for the glory of God and not for your own benefit and self righteousness by pleasing men (Colossians 3:23), for we are commanded to honor God by doing everything for His glory alone, then surely you will not be confounded. And you know why God wants’ us to do everything for His glory? Not just because He deserves our life as a living sacrifice, but also God will never fail those who do good works in His name and for His glory, He will surely sustain those who truly believe in Him and will abundantly give grace so that their heart will not faint.

You see, when you do things for men and they fail you, you also feel like you’re a failure right? You feel like everything is useless, every effort is unappreciated. But with God? He is a God who never forgets, He will surely repay every single act for His glory no matter how small or failure you might think it is. As Jeremiah cry out unto God saying “O LORD, thou knowest: remember me, and visit me, and revenge me of my persecutors; take me not away in thy long suffering: know that for thy sake I have suffered rebuke.” Jeremiah 15:15. When I read this verse during my devotional time every morning, I feel like I can utter what Paul claimed to be His strength in doing hard missions for the cost of Christ, indeed he is right when he said, “I can do all things for Christ which strengthens me” (Philippians 4:13).

Well as human, we have the tendency to become selfish and do things for our own vain glory, as we are in the flesh where there is no good that dwells. But only by the grace of God we can make our heart right, every intentions good, as we can ask for His grace to make our heart right, as the psalmist says, “create a clean heart within me and renew a right spirit within me” (Psalm 51:10). If satan accuses you that you can no longer be cleanse and be renewed, then just pray and ask for God’s grace to help you do the things for His glory, for in doing the things for the expansion of God’s kingdom will surely bring true joy, for in Christ we live and have life (Colossians 3:3-4).

So given the knowledge that in Christ we have life? In Christ we have true joy? I put into mind that in this world, people will surely fail you (that is why countless reminders from the Bible says not to trust men for surely there is no help(Psalm 146:3) or the other one, “lean not on your own understanding and in all thy ways acknowledge Him and He shall direct thy paths (Proverbs 3:5-6)” ).

So what am I talking about? What’s my point? My point is simply this, “just do everything for the glory of God and you will not be put into shame as God will surely fight for you and you shall hold on to your peace (Exodus 14:14 )”. For in this life, we do things for the glory of God alone, no more, no less. This truth might sound so selfish unto others, but God deserves everything that we have for He is God, and for what he has done when He gave us His only Begotten Son to die on the cross, as the hymn says “To God be the glory for the things he has done”.

Therefore my friend, if the accuser of the brethren comes to you and instill all kinds of evil and lustful thoughts for you to give up your faith, just remember that we have a God who is sovereign and mighty, who’s arm is not shortened that it cannot save us, call upon in His name, for salvation is of the Lord alone (Jonah 2:9), let not your heart be troubled, for every good things works for those who are called according to the purpose of God and to those who love Him (Romans 8:28).

So with these truths and promises from God, how can we not trust Him? How can we not believe that He is capable of establishing our ways if we will only trust in Him? If God ordained those who will be save before the foundation of the world, then surely God has a plan for each of His children, and that is not to harm them, but to be at peace and to give each one of us an expected end (Jeremiah 29:11), an end of enjoying God’s salvation unto His people.

Well as for me right now, with all the heartaches that I’ve gained from following Christ, I just put into mind that God will surely implant my two feet on a solid Biblical foundation, surely He will cleanse me from trusting the broken cisterns that can’t hold waters (Jeremiah 2:13), broken cisterns that can’t help me in advancing in the faith, cisterns that can lead me away from the faith, “the broken cisterns that can’t hold no water” as the Bible says. So do not be surprised with all the trials in life, if God will remove all the things and people that you cling on with the believe that they can help you then that’s for your benefit, for surely there is no mistake in God, He will leave you destitute if needed just to see if still you will have a high view of Him, of His ability to save you from being nobody and destitute. He will surely test you if whether or not, you will walk in faith and not by sight, He will test you if whether or not you can still do all things for His glory alone. Just look at Job, he was considered as righteous before God as he did not forsake his faith unto Him despite of all the evil that God allowed in his life, so indeed God do work in the life of His children, discipline them, chastise and rebuke them if needed so that they will grow in the faith.

So to end this blog, list every promise in the Bible that can help you walked on in the faith, and claim it. Meditate with those truths until your heart will believe it, for God will renew the strength of those who will trust in Him, like an eagle, He never forsake His own, He will strengthen them so that their heart and faith will not faint. (Isaiah 40:31). Seek God first and His righteousness and all this things shall be added unto you (Matthew 6:33), things that can give each one of us an everlasting and unshakable joy, for the source of our joy is God alone. Remember one of God’s promises: “For the LORD will not cast off his people, neither will he forsake his inheritance. Psalm 94:14”. The Lord will not forsake His own, as the hymn says:

I belong to the King; I’m a child of His love,
And he never forsaketh His own.
He will call me some day to His palace above;
I shall dwell by His glorified throne.

 

TO GOD BE THE GLORY AND MERRY CHRISTMAS

GOD IS FAITHFUL

Leave a Reply

