Relying On God’s Strength Alone

Excess baggage’s will not make your soul well, let go and acknowledge that trusting in the flesh will bring no resting place for our weary soul, for only by calling in the name of the LORD we will be save.

“Some trust in chariots, and some in horses: but we will remember the name of the LORD our God. Psalm 20:7”

I guess I’m not that type of a person who can easily express myself, for according to psychology, I have a “melancholic temperament”, which means I’m simply a “loner”. And some of the Bible characters who have such temperament are Elijah and Moses (according to that book that I’ve read a long time ago, which by the way I’ve forgot the title already).

Anyway, according to my neurologist, a person like me is prone to depression and nerve problem (actually I have a nerve problem which my doctor said it can’t be healed, but by God’s grace I’m completely in good health now). Hence he gave me a medication that can calm my nerve to prevent further health problems that will affect my muscle movement and speech. It took me years before I gave up the medication because I guess, I was too dependent with it, making it as my comfort zone. And finally, when I became a Christian, I decided to believe in the Lord that apart from Him, there will be no rest, cure, comfort and salvation. Finally I have the courage to be like that of a woman who was healed and made whole from her disease because of her faith in the Lord. (Matthew 9: 20).

“But Jesus turned him about, and when he saw her, he said, Daughter, be of good comfort; thy faith hath made thee whole. And the woman was made whole from that hour:  Matthew 9:22”

Why am I saying this? Because I just want to tell everyone that the God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob, the Lord Jesus Christ is capable of healing every diseases that we thought it can’t be healed, for God is simply “GOD” who can do what it seems impossible for men.

“But our God is in the heavens: he hath done whatsoever he hath pleased. Psalm 115:3”

Because of Christ saving grace that brought me to where I am now, a life that have direction and hope that someday He will tell me, “well done my good and faithful servant” (Matthew 25:21), I know I will not be put into shame, for I know that in times of my weakness, He has been my strength, in times of confusion, His words have been the light of my feet, bringing me to the right path, to the path of “righteousness” where no evil can bring my soul to weary, the only words that can make my soul secure unto salvation.

“Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path. Psalm 119:105”

“And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. 2 Corinthians 12:9”

With such promises in the Bible, promises of comfort from God’s words, why will I harden my heart from God? If God’s word (s) will tell me to throw the unnecessary baggages’s and trust that His grace is sufficient, why will I not believe it? Everything in this world will pass, but God’s word will stand, hence I have no reason not to believe it….I have no reason to hold on to the remedy of this world that can’t heal my wounded and weary soul, for God is my greatest physician.

“But the word of the Lord endureth forever. And this is the word which by the gospel is preached unto you. 1 Peter 1:25”

“He healeth the broken in heart, and bindeth up their wounds. Psalm 147:3”

I believe that after I became a Christian, the Lord have continually taught me to trust in Him alone, and not of this world, not even to the comforting words of the world, but in His words alone. For the Bible taught me that in this world, faith in Christ is the only faith that can bring us unto salvation, no more, no less…..”PERIOD”…

“Put not your trust in princes, nor in the son of man, in whom there is no help. Psalm 146:3”

“But I will sacrifice unto thee with the voice of thanksgiving; I will pay that that I have vowed. Salvation is of the LORD. Jonah 2:9”

Indeed salvation is of the LORD, for men will surely break their words, their promises, but with God? I know that He is enough for me, for He will fight for me (Exodus 14:14) to show to the world that I am His dear child, and as My Father in Heaven, I know that He will not give me something that can lead me to darkness. Our Father in Heaven desires nothing but for us to walk in uprightness of heart, for He is a righteous God, as He said in Isaiah 45:19, “I the LORD speak righteousness, I declare things that are right”.

So knowing that a good God have saved me from my miseries that comes from trusting the world who can’t even save my soul, nor give me eternal life, why will I fight with Him by not obeying His words? By not walking in uprightness of heart? By trusting not His promises, but the promises of the world? Why will I quarrel with my creator who wants nothing but for me to obtain salvation? How dare we inhabitants of the world do that to a good and holy,holy,holy God? How dare you to trust in the idols of this world that are dead and can’t do nothing to ease your burden. How dare us make ourselves as our own idol by defining salvation outside from the scripture, for the scripture says, “the Lord Jesus Christ is our only Savior”.

What I’m trying to say is this:  throw everything that can hinder you in glorifying God, stop creating your own “fairytale like happy ending” just to preserved your own definition of happiness, for only in the Lord we can find contentment and peace. Sometimes, we are so overwhelmed with what the world can offer, we fill our heart with temporal hope brought about by the world, but we forget that in God alone we can be filled with love, joy, peace, gentleness, goodness, faith, meekness, temperance, for these are the fruits of the Holy Spirit (Galatians 5:22: 23), we can only have life in Christ alone (Colossians 3:4), and apart from the Lord, there is no life, hence trusting this world more than God is considered as His enemy, as it is written:

“Ye adulterers and adulteresses, know ye not that the friendship of the world is enmity with God?whosoever therefore will be a friend of the world is the enemy of God. James 4:4”

“Paul, an apostle of Jesus Christ by the commandment of God our Saviour, and Lord Jesus Christ, which is our hope; 1 Timothy 1:1”

The world can offer you nothing but burden, burden that can make you faithless in Christ, for where your heart is, there is your treasure (Matthew 6: 21), and if your treasure and hope belongs to the medicine and treasures of this world, choosing to serve these “earthly idols’ rather than the Lord of Lord and King of King, the Lord Jesus Christ? Surely my friend you cannot experience God’s strength, as the Bible says in James 4:4, “being friend with this world is an enemy of God.”

I’m writing this blog because I hate what I see in this world, I hate the people who confessed that they know the Lord but they can’t even utter a single reason why they love the Lord. They say they love the Lord, but their heart is full of envy with what they can see with this world. They say they worshipped the Lord, but they bow down to the graven images of this world that are dead. They seek not and do nothing for the glory of the Lord, ( we are commanded to do everything heartily for the glory of the Lord and not unto men. Colossians 3:23), for they seek things for themselves alone, they love the things that have no eternal value. With these carnal truths that men loved, no wonder their heart failed when the things of this world can no longer define their happiness, when this world can no longer sustain their own definition of happiness, when this world can no longer feed the self- esteem of men, when this world can no longer preserve them…this world can’t hold you up my friend, for this carnal world is dead in sin, and apart from the Lord Jesus Christ, there will be no life.

My friend, if only you will seek for God and know the truth in the Bible, then you will surely agree with what the Westminster Catechism statement that says:  “the chief end of man is to glorify God”, for in glorifying God we lack nothing, as the psalmist say:

“My flesh and my heart faileth: but God is the strength of my heart, and my portion for ever. Psalm 73:26”

It is my prayer now that we will have the poverty of our spirit and let the Lord fill us with the Holy Spirit, may God give us the grace to let go of what is not needed in walking with God that can hinder us from growing in the faith, for apart from His grace, we can do nothing of ourselves, for only in His strength we will be sustained. There is so much to say about God’s goodness, so many promises in the scripture that tells about the blessing that comes in surrendering ourselves unto God, blessing that can only be obtain by trusting in God alone, for in Him alone we can be save and have eternal life…in the Lord Jesus Christ, alone, the Son of God our Saviour:

“Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me. John 14:6”

To end this blog, let me share to you one of my favorite Bible verse that gives every Christian the assurance of renewal of strength by trusting in the Lord alone, as it is written:

But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint. Isaiah 40:31

Remember, God is lowly in heart, He will give you rest:

Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. Matthew 11:28-29

Learn from God and not from this world,  surely you will find the rest that you longed for, a rest that the world can’t give, for salvation is of the LORD alone.

To God be the glory

GOD IS FAITHFUL

Leave a Reply

