The True Power of the Cross: The Gospel of the Suffering Christ

I may not be able to sail around the world, but as long as I have with me the captain of my salvation, the “LORD Jesus Christ”, I know partaking in His suffering through obedience to the word of God is worth sailing for. Indeed worthy is the Lamb of God to be praised, for salvation is of Christ, our Savior, and I glory with that truth, the truth of the redeemed Son of God in which all things are made for him….O Ye People, Crown the Son of God with many crowns, let us rejoice with great shout, for He will surely redeem those who truly behold in the beauty of eternity.  (For it became him, for whom are all things, and by whom are all things, in bringing many sons unto glory, to make the captain of their salvation perfect through sufferings. Hebrews 2:10).

After I obtained salvation, after I was pardoned with my sins through the Son of God, through His precious blood, I did plan to enter Bible school, for I longed to know the captain of my salvation, the Lord Jesus Christ, who’s loved for all of us is beyond measure.

But I made a promised to God not to leave in the ministerial activities in my home church, which up until now I’m a teacher to the less fortunate kids who have no knowledge about the Messiah, about the God that I cherished the most, the God who’s eyes behold to the sinner’s helpless state, pleading to submit themselves to the word of truth in the Bible, to the will of the Father, though salvation will always be of the Lord, it will always be the working of His power and mercy, for if left on our own? We could simply do nothing….We cannot save our own from sin…from eternal damnation of hell.

But the salvation of the righteous is of the LORD: he is their strength in the time of trouble. Psalm 37:39

Though I loved to enroll myself for some Bible school lectures, but I decided to take a leap of a faith, to believed that by the power of the Holy Spirit I will be able to have the Heavenly wisdom and knowledge, the right interpretation of the word of God, but ofcourse, I have my influences like John Newton, George Muller, William Carey, Charles Spurgeon, John Piper, John MacArthur, Billy Graham and Paul Washer.

But above all, my greatest influence is my Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ, for in Him and through Him we can obtain salvation, in His image and likeness the Father will conformed those who are truly a co-heir of His dear Son.

For who hath known the mind of the Lord, that he may instruct him? But we have the mind of Christ.1 Corinthians 2:16

Let me quote to you once again this undying Bible verse, the heart of the gospel in which many are ignorant about what it means by heart, though many have known it by mouth:

For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life. John 3:16

As for me, it took me 26 years to understand such truth, and still up until now I’m on the process of knowing the Lord, and for sure, when I get into heaven someday, all I’m going to do is to know Him for eternity and sing praises for His name sake.

It cost me my whole life before I realized how great God’s loved for me, for all of us, it took me to face my wicked self, to confront it, and to kill my sin through the Gospel, as it is the way, the truth and the life. The Gospel is our hope, salvation, the good news of peace between men and God  in which we were once His enemy due to our sin.

The Gospel is Christ, the word that became flesh for men to become sons and daughters of the Father (as the birth of the Savior had been prophesied in Isaiah 9: 6). The God who left His glory for our salvation, for our justification, for sinners that we are who’s wickedness God cannot stand nor tolerate as He is holy…..we simply have no right to inherit the heavenly kingdom, but by the obedience of Christ to pleased the Father, to shut the wrath of the Father up to humanity, He drunk the fullness of God’s wrath, of God’s punishment to us.

And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us, (and we beheld his glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father,) full of grace and truth. John 1:14

Knowing this verse, I feel like melting in shame for my sin, melting in humiliation for my ignorance to the truth about the greatest love of all, the “love of the spotless lamb of God”.

As I was pondering to John 1:14, I was thinking about the conversation between the Father and the Son as they planned the salvation of mankind, I mean, how could the Lord Jesus Christ agreed to the greatest plan of His Father, the plan of His “DEATH” to recreate humanity that once polluted by the lie of the serpent in the garden of Eden. And honestly? I feel like crying whenever I think of Jesus, who has to taste death to please the Father, to “kill the wrath of God that is supposed to be poured upon us.”

But we see Jesus, who was made a little lower than the angels for the suffering of death, crowned with glory and honour; that he by the grace of God should taste death for every man. Hebrews 2:9

Forasmuch then as the children are partakers of flesh and blood, he also himself likewise took part of the same; that through death he might destroy him that had the power of death, that is, the devil; Hebrews 2:14

I feel like nodding my head and say, “poor Lord Jesus Christ”, but to be honest? It’s not the Lord Jesus Christ who is poor, it’s those who doesn’t know Him, those who believed Joel Osteen who preached nothing but all about prosperity instead of teaching how hard it is to take up our cross as we follow Christ at the Calvary, it’s those who left their Bible in their book shelves with all the dust and the spider webs, those who keep on obeying the lust of the flesh rather than obeying the command of the Father, those who claimed to be saved but have no passion in knowing and serving their Savior in the Bible because of their laziness, “POOR SINNERS” who choose not to battle sin despite of the fact that we are given the power to overcome our sin, as it was long had been crucified a thousand years ago.

And they that are Christ’s have crucified the flesh with the affections and lusts. Galatians 5:24

So I just couldn’t bear the fact that people could not love the “Jesus” in the Bible that I knew, my Lord Jesus who have to let go all His glory and riches in heaven just to saved us from eternal damnation, the Spotless Lamb who found me while enjoying sin, and I’m telling you, I’m the chief of all the sinners. But my difference to the other sinners who cannot say, “I thank you for the cross my Lord, I thank you for the cross” is that, I know the Lord Jesus Christ, although I’m not a Bible scholar, but I know His presence through prayer and reading my Bible.

And right now, I have the privilege to asked for the things through prayer by faith, I have a hoped that one day, all the sufferings of this world will finally end, as the Lord that I’m serving will finally clothed me with a white robed that no one can stain, not even satan and his lies, as I will rejoice with the serpent’s cry while being tormented in the lake of fire someday, the serpent who deceived Adam and Eve, the serpent who did nothing but to accused the saints, the serpent who murdered the ignorant of the gospel like Hitler, the serpent who have blinded the people about the truth of the gospel.

And I heard a loud voice saying in heaven, Now is come salvation, and strength, and the kingdom of our God, and the power of his Christ: for the accuser of our brethren is cast down, which accused them before our God day and night. Revelation 12:10

And honestly? Whenever I see Joel Osteen in youtube? I feel like crushing Him for blinding the people, for telling the people a gospel of their own convenience, a gospel according to the lust of their heart, a gospel that can’t even save His soul, for the true Gospel of Christ in the Bible had taught me that following Christ is all about glorifying Him, it’s all about offering our life to Him…”OUR ALL”… and it will never be God who will adjust to our convenience, it’s us who need to follow the Bible, it’s not, “Okay Lord, I confessed that you are my Lord after you give me a car, a house, a wife or husband and etc”, for this “Prosperity Gospel” is all about “taking Jesus if the pay-off is right-John Piper”, as how this prosperity preachers have been telling the people.

But you know what my dear readers? The gospel is not a book that will make us feel comfortable and secure materially, but rather it’s the opposite, it’s the Book of God that will tell you to take heed from the devil’s lies, least you fall from sin, it’s the message that will direct you to kill your sin and walk with the Lord in holiness through separating oneself from the path of darkness and evil, it’s the Book of God who will discipline your wicked mind and heart to become righteous, to simply means “living a life that is free from sin and an undying search for the presence of the Almighty God in prayer and Bible reading ”.

Wherefore let him that thinketh he standeth take heed lest he fall. There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it. 1 Corinthians 10:12-13

“For from within, out of the heart of men, proceed evil thoughts, adulteries, fornications, murders, Thefts, covetousness, wickedness, deceit, lasciviousness, an evil eye, blasphemy, pride ,foolishness: All these evil things come from within, and defile the man. Mark 7:21-23”

“And when he was at the place, he said unto them, Pray that ye enter not into temptation. Luke 22:40”

These truths are just few of the warnings for us to depart from sin, as there are countless in the Gospel, but you see, the truths in the word of God in the Bible will never point you of following Him at your own convenience and comfort zone, but rather its pointing us to the path of holiness and righteousness through separation from our sinful nature, for we are bought with a price by our Holy God, by the “LORD Jesus Christ”.

As a matter of a fact, the Gospel taught me how to partake in the suffering of Christ by losing my life for Him, by denying myself as I take up my cross, and as I delight in His promises, that my labor for the advancement of His kingdom will not be in vain, for someday I will inherit eternity with my Lord in heaven.

Then said Jesus unto his disciples, If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow me. For whosoever will save his life shall lose it: and whosoever will lose his life for my sake shall find it. For what is a man profited, if he shall gain the whole world, and lose his own soul? or what shall a man give in exchange for his soul? For the Son of man shall come in the glory of his Father with his angels; and then he shall reward every man according to his works. Matthew 16:24-27.”

Indeed its very costly to follow the Lord Jesus Christ, for following Him will not cost me the riches of this temporal world, but rather it will cost me to deny myself to obey the Father’s will and be His servant, I can feel now how it feels like when He left His glory in heaven to go down in this very carnal and sinful land, He became poor for our sake, He left nothing for himself but the fact that He will be drinking the fullness of the wrath of God at the cross of the Calvary.

Saying, Father, if thou be willing, remove this cup from me: nevertheless not my will, but thine, be done. Luke 22:42

The “cup” that the Lord Jesus Christ is referring to is the cup of the wrath of God that is supposed to be poured to the human kind. The Lord Jesus Christ prayed earnestly at the garden of Gethsemane that the Father will remove such wrath from Him, but as an obedient Son, He did follow the Father for His glorification, for it pleased the Father to bruised His Son, to kill His wrath to humanity, for no blood can atone for our sin, not even angels, but simply the only “Begotten Son of God”, His dear Son in which all things are all made for:

Yet it pleased the LORD to bruise him; he hath put him to grief: when thou shalt make his soul an offering for sin, he shall see his seed, he shall prolong his days, and the pleasure of the LORD shall prosper in his hand. Isaiah 53:10

I just simply can’t stand some preachers who keep on spreading a “twisted gospel”, as Paul Washer says, “twist not the gospel or you will be like the devil”. Prosperity gospel is not the gospel who will tell you how costly it is to follow the Lord Jesus Christ at the cross of the Calvary, but rather, the true Gospel of Christ will tell you how costly it is to follow the Lord, as it requires you your life as a living sacrifice.

Hence know the truth in the Bible, and see how expensive it is to follow Christ, for He became a man for us, for us to become men of God. Know the truth and seek the Savior my friend, read your Bible and pray, for Christian life is all about the truth, for Christ is the way, the truth and the life, Christian life is a “HOLY WAR AGAINTS SIN, AS CHRIST WAS SLAUGHTERED FOR OUR SIN, THEREFORE, LET US KILL OUR SIN BY THE BLOOD OF CHRIST, BY OBEYING THE SCRIPTURES IN THE BIBLE”.

Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me. John 14:6

Hence if your faith is not based on the gospel of the suffering Christ, don’t call your faith Christianity, nor don’t expect eternal life, the Gospel that we believed in must be the truth, in which the Lord Jesus Christ’s life, suffering and resurrection is the heart of the message.

And if children, then heirs; heirs of God, and joint- heirs with Christ; if so be that we suffer with him, that we may be also glorified together. Romans 8:17

THE GOSPEL IS THE GOOD AND HOLY NEWS FROM GOD, AS IT IS THE WORD OF GOD,DON’T REDUCED IT AT YOUR CONVENIENCE AS IT IS A BLASPHEMY

GOD IS FAITHFUL

Leave a Reply

